Bravery Awards for Children on Republic Day

Sponsored Links

In order to acknowledge the young braves of India, Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) joining hands with Indian government initiated the National Bravery award in 1957. These awards aim to recognize and honor children who performed outstanding deeds of gallantry and selfless sacrifice.

The history of Bravery Award commencement dates back to 2 October, 1957 when a 14- year old boy, Harish, became a savior of hundreds of life from ignited fire due to short circuit in an ongoing function. Fortunately, first prime minister of India Jawaharlal Nehru was also among the audience of show.

After watching the presence of mind and courage of that young boy, Nehru ji observed a need to felicitate children like Harish, So he directed ICCW to constitute an Award to salute the brave children of India. Subsequently, bravery awards are announced on 14th November (Children Day) but prorate on Republic Day every year. The award is conferred to around 24 children below 16.

Application for award are invited from various sources including central/state government departments, panchayats, zilla parishads, school authorities as well as state and Union territory councils for child welfare. If you know any such brave child kindly contact the mayor of your district or sarpanch of your village.

The list of awardees is announced by ICCW committee including representatives from the secretariats of the President and the vice-president, various ministries, as well as the Central Social Welfare Board, the police, All India Radio, Doordarshan and leading NGOs such as the National Bal Bhavan, SOS, Children’s Villages of India, R K Mission and experienced ICCW members.

After the official announcement the awardees are subsequently invited to Delhi. On the eve of the Republic Day the Prime Minister bestows upon them the gallantry awards on the Republic Day. Children then take part in the Republic Day Parade on caparisoned elephants and call on various dignitaries.

This year 23 children (9 girls 14 boys) are selected for Bravery Awards here is a list of some of them:

Bibek Sharma an 11 year old boy from Sikkim saved a life of 7 year old girl. Sharma held out his arms and caught the girl who fell from the second floor of a building. Even Bibek was seriously injured in rescuing as both fell on concrete ground.

Shuruti Lodhi 13, and Champa Kanwar, six, will be awarded the bravery award posthumously.

Kanwar from Rajasthan will also receive award posthumously. He was killed in an un successful rescue attempt.

Priyanshu Joshi, 11-year-old from Uttarakhand who saved his sister from the clutches of a leopard will be honored on the Republic Day!

The other special awards are Bharat award (1987, ICCW) the Sanjay Chopra and Geeta Chopra Awards (1978). The Bapu Gayadhani award was instituted on 1988.

The awardees receive a medal, certificate, cash and financial assistance until they complete their schooling under the ICCW’s sponsorship programme.

We salute these brave souls from the bottom of our heart.

Shipra Srivastava

Sponsored Links

Comments are closed.

Powered by Wordpress: